How To Naturally Boost Your Family’s Immune Systems

It’s that time a year again, when we start to see our little ones with runny noses and hearing the sounds of coughing and sneezing all around us. I love fall and the slow onset of winter. Fall is my favorite time of year for so many reasons, I love pumpkins, Halloween, bon fires, lots of Birthdays, playing in the leaves, hot chocolate, I could go on and on. One of my least favorite parts about the onset of cold is the beginning of cold and flu season. This year our family has a new set of germs to worry about. Our three year old started Pre K in October and within the first few weeks she was home sick more than a few times as her body adjusted to all those new germs around her.

The threat of these new germs made me wonder how I can improve our defenses against these germs. We did get flu shots this year, we did not last year. I have to say I’m torn on the topic, but when we made the decision I was being faced with having to go on immune suppressant medication when my Doctors thought I had Crohn’s disease. So with the fear of having a compromised immune system we decided it was best if our family got flu shots. However, I believe there are many steps we can take to increase our immune systems without the assistance of medicine. Research has shown us that good immune systems are not just about great genes, we have to provide a little boost sometimes. There are so many tools available to parents to help boost our children’s immune systems safely and effectively. Over the next week or so I will be sharing some of the measures we take to boost our defenses, speed healing when we get sick, and help our little ones learn the tools to stay healthy. Maybe with a few changes we can all have a healthier winter.

Leave a Reply

