Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

There are so many versions of granola bars out there. I have tried a variety and have adapted this recipe and it has become my stand by. It is so easy to whip up, it takes less then ten minutes. I guarantee you and your little ones will love these as a quick breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

2/3 cup coconut oil2/3 cup peanut butter2/3 cup honey2 1/2 cups old fashioned/rolled oats1 cup chocolate chips
Place coconut oil, peanut butter, and honey in a microwave safe bowl and microwave for 30 seconds, or until coconut oil is liquid. I use a Pyrex bowl for this, be careful the bowl gets pretty toasty. Whisk the ingredients together until smooth, and cool slightly (otherwise the chocolate chips will melt). In a large bowl, combine oats and chocolate chips. Pour cooled coconut oil mixture over oats and chocolate chips, and stir to coat well. Press into a 9 x 9 baking dish and refrigerate until firm and solid. Cut into bars, and store in the fridge.

Note: If you want thinner bars you can use a 9X13 pan. Also, if you would rather not use chocolate chips you can use any add ins you like. We have made them with raisins and dried cranberries as well. I also have made them with melted chocolate chips, this was a complete mistake but was a happy mistake. I made them one afternoon and tossed them in the fridge on my way to out the door to pick my daughter up from PreK. When I got home I realized I had not laid them flat in the fridge and so all the ingredients had smashed to one side of the dish. To fix it I put it in the oven for just a few minutes to warm it and then re-spread the mixture back out. The chocolate chips melted which made an even chocolate flavor. If you choose to do this make sure to mix in a little extra oats as the melted chocolate make it a thinner mixture. It is also slightly messier to eat this way, but still yummy.

ENJOY

Leave a Reply

