Sweet Potato and Spinach Quiche

I started thinking about quiche a few weeks ago. I thought it might be a good little treat for my hungry toddler. I know quiche does not sound like a toddler food!! At least that’s what I thought the first time I heard a toddler raving about quiche. I had just started working at a graduate student at our campus Child Development Lab. I had a room full of two year olds who had a passion for lunch time. It was maybe our second week of school and one little boy ran in so excited because today was quiche day. I remember laughing thinking what toddler eats quiche or even knows what it is. I have to admit I was 26 years old and had never had quiche and actually wasn’t overly sure of what it was myself. How surprised I was when lunch time rolled around and all my little two year olds gobbled down every last bite of quiche.

I thought about that table of cutie two year olds with spoons full of quiche and smiles on their faces as I was searching for meal ideas for my toddler. I began searching the web for ideas since I have to be honest I still wasn’t 100% sure what went into quiche. I knew it was a lot of eggs and cheese and a mix of other ingredients. I tried a few recipes and altered a few and ended up with a recipe that I think is pretty tasty. But the real test came when my hungry toddler ate every last bite of her quiche for lunch. This recipe is nice because it can be altered to fit your toddler’s likes and dislikes. I went easy on the cheese because my toddler doesn’t handle a lot of dairy very well. I also added a cup of shredded chicken; I am always looking for ways to sneak in protein. She is such a veggie/fruit loving kid that she often ignores the protein on her plate. So you can make it with the chicken or without if you want a more veggie friendly meal. I actually made two batches, one with chicken and one without and she was equally as enthusiastic about both. The beauty of this recipe is you can make it ahead of time in a large batch and freeze it. Then when you need a quick meal pull one out and heat it up. They warm up beautifully for a quick snack. I made mine in the mini muffin tins. You could make them in regular sized muffin tins or even small pie plates depending on your need. I hope this is as big a hit at your house as it is ours!!!

Toddler Friendly Sweet Potato and Spinach Quiche

What you will need:

  • 2 TBS of butter
  • 8-10 oz of shredded fresh baby spinach or frozen spinach (I used frozen because that’s what I had on hand, be sure to drain it well if you opt for frozen).
  • 1 medium sweet potato (peeled and grated)
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 2 egg yolks
  • ¾ cups of ricotta cheese
  • ¼ cup of grated parmesan cheese (you can use cheddar or anytime of cheese you want, I liked the lighter flavor of parmesan).
  • ½ cup-1 cup of chicken, cooked and shredded (adjust amount to your need).  

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375°
  • In a medium skillet, melt your butter
  • Add the grated sweet potato and sauté over medium heat until done. This will take about 7-8 minutes. If you are using fresh spinach you can add it in with the sweet potato and sauté for 3-4 additional minutes.
  • Transfer the sweet potato and spinach to a large bowl to cool.
  • If you are using frozen spinach be sure to drain it and then add it to the skillet and sauté for a few minutes until warm. Transfer the spinach to the bowl with the sweet potato.
  • Add the eggs, ricotta cheese, and parmesan cheese to the mixture. Mix this all together until well combined. Add in your shredded chicken if you are using it.
  • Spray or butter your muffin tin and fill the tin with the mixture. Fill your tins almost full, just leaving a small space at the top.
  • Place muffin tin in the oven and bake for about 12-15 minutes or until the quiche is golden brown.
  • If you are freezing them allow the quiche to cool completely before placing it in your freezer container or freezer bag. Can be frozen 3-4 months.
  • To defrost microwave on high for 15-20 seconds.
Leave a Reply

