Healthy Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

I am always looking for healthy fun treats I can make for my kids to snack on or to pack in their lunches. But let’s be honest I am also always on the look out for yummy snacks for myself. I am also always looking for recipes that I can add to my collection to help use up all that Zucchini we will no doubt have running out our ears in a few months. I saw these and thought they fit the bill of tasty with a side of healthy. I will definitely be trying these this weekend!!

Head on over to Tried and Tasty  or see the recipe below to check out this delicious looking treat!

 

Zucchini-Muffins-01

 

Healthy Chocolate Zucchini Muffin
Serves 11
Ingredients
  1. Slightly less than 1/3 c. honey
  2. Slightly less than 1/4 c. molasses
  3. 1/4 c. Spectrum® Naturals Organic Coconut Oil, softened or melted
  4. 1 egg , plus 2 egg whites
  5. 1 banana , well mashed
  6. 3/4 c. plain yogurt
  7. 1 tsp. vanilla
  8. 2 c. grated zucchini (approx. 2 medium)
  9. 2 c. whole wheat flour*
  10. 1/4 c. ground flax seed
  11. 1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa powder
  12. 1/2 tsp. salt
  13. 2 tsp. baking soda
  14. 1 tsp. cinnamon
  15. 1/4 c. mini chocolate chips
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 375. Once you’ve shredded your zucchini, squeeze out any excess moisture. In a stand mixer, mix together the wet ingredients (including the Spectrum® Naturals Organic Coconut Oil & zucchini). In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, ground flaxseed, cocoa powder, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. Slowly add the flour mixture into the wet batter and mix well. Lastly, add your mini chocolate chips and stir just until incorporated. Lightly coat your jumbo muffin tin with cooking spray; fill each cup about half way (I used my large cookie scoop and filled each cup with two scoops). Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
Notes
  1. I used the soft white winter wheat berries for this recipe and it turned out wonderful. I freshly grind the berries in my Blendtec right before adding it in the recipe. The fresher the flour, the higher the nutritional value. Of course, if you don’t have the resources to grind your own wheat berries, you can buy store bought whole wheat flour as well.
  2. Also, if these aren’t going to be eaten within a couple of days, I would suggest storing them in the fridge. Because of how moist they are, they won’t last long on the counter top.

 

 

Leave a Reply

