Monthly Reading List

reading-to-kids-quote

It’s no secret that my favorite time of the day is when we snuggle in to read bed time stories. I snag the kids throughout the day and try to read a book here and there individually. However, there is just something almost magical (ok most nights) about bedtime stories. Everyone is freshly bathed and in their jammies. They are slightly sleepy and ready to snuggle. The kids tend to go through trends with the books we read so I thought it would be fun to share the books we are reading each month. Below I will compile my list of books that we are reading each month. We do some books base don themes but mostly it is books the kids have picked. Hopefully this will add some inspiration to your book buying/reading. I would love to hear what books you are reading as well!!

January 2016:

This month we began our family value lessons for the year. This means many of our books centered around our family value of courage. If you want more information on our family value system please click here to read the blog post describing it. We have some favorites that have also resurfaced this month. I love to see my children’s personalities come out in the books they choose.

Books about Courage:

The Recess Queen

A fresh & original twist on the common issue of bullying. Kids will relate, & parents & teachers will appreciate the story’s deft handling of conflict resolution (which happens w/o adult intervention)

I’m Brave

For fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Steam Train, Dream Train comes the perfect noisy addition to this hilarious read-aloud series from the popular creators of I Stink!, and I’m Dirty!—now a streaming animated series!

I’m Brave! is the most irresistible addition yet to Kate and Jim McMullan’s hilarious read-aloud series: a fire truck.

He’s a big red engine
With a siren,
A horn,
A tank full of water,
And a whole lotta hose!

He’s a good-lookin’ fire truck,
And he’s brave, too.
When the alarm sounds
Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeoooooooooo
He’s gotta drive through
Smoke and heat
Straight to a blazing fire!

Honk! Honk!

Spaghetti in a Hot Dog Bun: Having the Courage To Be Who You Are

How can Ralph be so mean? Lucy is one of a kind and Ralph loves to point that out. Lucy’s defining moment comes when Ralph truly needs help. Because she knows what she stands for, Lucy has the courage to make a good choice. This charming story empowers children to always do the right thing and be proud of themselves, even when they are faced with someone as challenging as Ralph.

Courage

What is courage? Certainly it takes courage for a firefighter to rescue someone trapped in a burning building, but there are many other kinds of courage too. Everyday kinds that normal, ordinary people exhibit all the time, like “being the first to make up after an argument,” or “going to bed without a nightlight.” Bernard Waber explores the many varied kinds of courage and celebrates the moments, big and small, that bring out the hero in each of us.

The Story Of Ruby Bridges

The year is 1960, and six-year-old Ruby Bridges and her family have recently moved from Mississippi to New Orleans in search of a better life. When a judge orders Ruby to attend first grade at William Frantz Elementary, an all-white school, Ruby must face angry mobs of parents who refuse to send their children to school with her. Told with Robert Coles’ powerful narrative and dramatically illustrated by George Ford, Ruby’s story of courage, faith, and hope is now available in this special 50th anniversary edition with an updated afterword!

Old Favorites:

Who Needs That Nose

This dynamic picture book for preschoolers is an animal guessing game told in riddle style. One spread gives a visual hint showing a close-up of the nose and other clues about the animal, and then asks, Who needs that nose? The following spread shows the animal in full and answers the riddle. Bold, lively illustrations with lots of details and fun design help make this picture book a thoughtful, interactive read for little ones. The riddle element makes this a perfect choice for group storytime. Who Needs That Nose? features six different animals with distinctive noses, including elephants, bats, moles, whales, anteaters, and monkeys. Kids will come back to this book again and again, eager to show how much they know!

Sam and Dave Dig a Hole

Enter a caption
Sam and Dave are on a mission. A mission to find something spectacular. So they dig a hole. And they keep digging. And they find . . . nothing. Yet the day turns out to be pretty spectacular after all. Attentive readers will be rewarded with a rare treasure in this witty story of looking for the extraordinary — and finding it in a manner you’d never expect.

Peanut Butter and Cupcake

What’s a little piece of bread to do when he’s feeling lonely? Find a friend, of course!

And that’s exactly what Peanut Butter tries to do. But sometimes friends are hard to come by, especially when Hamburger has to walk his (hot) dogs, Cupcake is too busy building castles in her sprinkle box, and Egg laughs so hard he starts to crack up! Does Peanut Butter have a soulmate? Young readers will know the answer long before Peanut Butter does and laugh along with each mismatched pairing.

In a story that pairs silliness with poignancy, and friendship with anthropomorphic food, Terry Border, the photography mastermind behind the Bent Objects project, makes a triumphant entrance into the children’s book world. Complete with a rhyming refrain, this is sure to be a favorite family read-aloud–and laugh-aloud.

November 2016

This month I have been focusing on teaching the kids about being thankful and what Thanksgiving is all about. Both kids are still loving the same characters we have seen throughout the months and we have also integrated some new finds such as Turkey Trouble. Enjoy!!

Pete the Cat: The First Thanksgiving

There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Turkey

The Berenstain Bears Give Thanks

Turkey Trouble

Little Critter: Just a Special Thanksgiving

Pinkalicious: Thanksgiving Helper

 

October 2016

This month our reading is all about Halloween. October is my favorite month by far!! It has alot to do with the weather, my Birthday and my love for Halloween and everything pumpkin. You will see many of our favorite characters getting ready for Halloween in these books. Pete the Cat, Pinkalicous, and the Little Blue Truck. We have also found some new favorites such as Ten Timid Ghosts.

The Spooky Wheels on the Bus

Room on The Broom

Little Blue Truck’s Halloween

Ten Timid Ghosts

The Little Old Lady who was not Afraid of Anything

Pete the Cat: Five Little Pumpkins

Goodnight Goon: a Petrifying Parody

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s